Mr. Antonio Colino Martínez

Medalla nº LV


Born in Madrid in 1946, he is a Doctor in Civil Engineering from the Polytechnical University of Madrid (UPM). Additionally he has a Diploma of Nuclear Electrical Engineer (USA), a Diploma in General Business Management (EOI), a Diploma in Energetic Technology (UPM) and a Master in National Defence.


His professional career began in 1972, in Bechtel Power Corporation in the USA, in the departments of Engineering and Construction of electrical nuclear power plants.


In 1975 he joined the Spanish National Electrical Company (ENDESA) for the Project of the Nuclear Power Station of Vandellós II, and then he went on to occupy different posts, the last one being Director of Advanced Nuclear Power Station Projects.


From 1996 to 2004 he was elected Executive Chairman of the National Agency for Radioactive Waste Management (ENRESA). He was the first President of the International Association for the Environmental and Safety Management of Radioactive Materials (EDRAM).


From 1996 to 2004, a board member of the National Laboratory for Energy (CIEMAT).


From 1998 to 2006, advisor on energy matters for the Research Programme of the European Union.


From 1998 to 2006, advisor for the International Atomic Energy Agency of the United Nations.


Since 2006 until 2012, he was Commissioner and Vicepresident of the Spanish Nuclear Regulatory Commission (CSN).


Since 2006 to 2011 was the first President of the Technical Committee 191 AENOR for Technical Terminology.


In 2008 elected President of the Association of High Studies of National Defence (ADALEDE) for eight years.


Since 2011 until 2012 he was the President of the Technological Platform for Research in Nuclear Energy from Fission (CEIDEN).


From 2000 to 2004 promoted and directed the Spanish Energy Dictionary.


In 2004 elected as Academician in the Royal Academy of Engineering.


Since 2005, director of the Spanish Engineering Dictionary.


He has been awarded with the Medal of Honour from the College of Civil Engineers, the Gold Medal from the Spanish Nuclear Society, Silver Cross of Civil Guard and the High Commendation of the Spanish National Order of Queen Isabella I.