Mr. Eduardo Alonso Pérez de Ágreda

Medalla nº XX
Académico constituyente

He received a Degree in Civil Engineering by Universidad Politécnica de Madrid in 1969 and a Ph.D. by Northwestern University in 1973.


He has worked in Rodio España (1969-71) and was a student researcher at Northwestern University of Evanston-Illinois (1971-73), Research Associate at McGill University in Montreal (1973-74), Full Professor (1974-86) at UPC-Barcelona Tech and since 1986 he acts as Faculty Chair at that same university.


He has taught soil mechanics, rock mechanics, geotechnical engineering and foundations, probability and risk in geotechnical engineering, soil dynamics, constitutive equations and tunnels and underground excavations.


He has published more than four hundred papers in international journals and national & international symposia, to which he has been invited to give many keynote lectures. His area of expertise includes such research fields as probability and statistics in soil mechanics, unsaturated soil mechanics, rock mechanics and thermo-hydro-mechanical behaviour of soils, embankment dams and slope stability. He is a reviewer of several international journals and president of the ITC106 Committee (Unsaturated Soils) of the International Society of Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering. 


He has submitted more than 200 reports as a consultant, in Spain and abroad, on deep excavations, power plants, walls, ground improvement, design of shallow and deep foundations, slope stability, underpinning of structures, ground recognition, industrial and earth dams, tunnels and nuclear waste storage.


He was awarded the Thomas Telford Medal (1994 & 2006), the greatest honour presented by the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) of the UK; the 2009 & 2010 Geotechnical Research Medal and the 2005 Crampton Prize, also by the ICE; the José Torán Award (1995), granted by the Spanish Committee on Large Dams; the 2000 Narcis Monturiol Award, conferred by the Generalitat de Catalunya, for his outstanding scientific and technical contributions to engineering. He was appointed by the Comité Français de Mécanique des Sols et Travaux des Fondations to be the 2nd Coulomb Lecturer (2003), by University Texas A & M, as the 11th Spencer Buchanan Lecturer (2003), by the Georgia Institute of Technology, to give the 10th Annual Sowers Lecture (2007), by the Italian Geotechnical Association, to give the 10th Arrigo Croce Lecture (2011) and by the International Society of Landslides to be the 1st Heim Lecturer (2012).